Vampire Epistolary I

(letter)

Who are the vulnerable ones? Those the hidden prey upon? They are the lost children of man, both. The vagrant and the vampire. My name was Levi. Now I am called Leviticus by your press. You have seen the Bloody letters on the wall. A reign of terror is upon you.

I was a mistake, both in my conception, and my resurrection. My mother was a Nun, despoiled by a madman. My sire was herself a mistake, a rogue vampire uncooperative with the systemic hierarchy.

I was born in the year 1340. I was unborn in the year 1379, and I persist.

I Haunt one of thousands of underpasses during the day. Collecting coin, and keeping company with the uninitiated. At night I walk among the people. I shed my coat of poverty, and dine on debutante and patrician alike.

I am a heretic amongst my own kind. A raving madman apostate who must not be suffered to live.

Many young ones have tried to kill the iconoclast, many indigent men have sought what little coin I possess. Both have met a bloody end. I pity them not.

This is my declaration of war. I will open your veins one by one, night by night. I will send out little birds from my keep to find you. I am content to be the Eidolon of your destruction. Each and every one of you have opened the door.

 

(email) 4/28/2015- 8:38pm

Juliet,

we must do something about the apostate.

 

At midday, a madman overcame my security and assaulted me in my slumber with a broken mop handle.

 

Apparently he disguised himself as a member of the janitorial staff. How he knew who I was, or where to find me is still unclear.

 

I’m certain he has other agents in the tower. I need to move my resting place.

 

The others are still unresponsive to his declaration of war, but I assure you it is of very real concern. The dangers of the power this one wields are not to be underestimated.

 

Reply as soon as possible so I know you are safe

 

– Midas

 

(text)4/28/2015- 9:41pm

My god Midas, I never expected this to happen.

I’ve alerted Janus and Wilks, and they are going to go after him.

I don’t know why but it doesn’t comfort me at all.

I’ve also spoken with the younglings in Hightower, they are all flush with questions that I can’t answer about what this means.

Apparently others have been attacked in similar fashion in their homes, by mortals they have held kinship with for years; maids, local shop keepers, drivers…

I don’t doubt he must have been planning this for years.

Why is he doing this? What is it even about? Vengeance? For what?

I’m scared, I haven’t let on to any of the others, but how can I not be Midas?

We don’t even know what city he is in.

 

(bloody letter)

Evening Midas,

 

Your little friends from Hightower are dead. Your enforcers will find them in the basement at Frost Tower.

I’m coming for you personally.

-Leviticus

 

(email)4/30/2015- 10:06pm

URGENT: He found me, left me a bloody letter at the apartment, saying he killed the young ones at hightower, and that I’m next.  what the hell do I do?

10:54pm

Re: URGENT: The sweepers have tracked him down, it wasn’t difficult once we learned he was in the high tower area. Wilks and Janus will have this settled up within the hour. We will keep you updated with the details, as things develop.

10:54pm

Re:Re:URGENT: Thank god!

12:37pm

Re:Re:Re: URGENT: Wilks just called in, they got him. Tore his fucking head off, and threw it in the river. I told you there was nothing to worry about.  

12:38pm

Re:Re:Re:Re: URGENT: remind me to up my annual contribution to you guys. I was scared out of my fucking mind.

1:53am

Re:Re:Re:Re:Re: URGENT: stay where you are at, we are sending someone around. There has been a complication.

1:55am

Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:URGENT: what the hell do you mean there has been a complication?

2:06am

Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:URGENT:We haven’t been able to get in touch with Wilks for over an hour now. Janus just found Wilks’ phone on top of a headless body down West Richardson Ave. We are Still investigating what happened.

 

I heard Wilks tell me himself that the bastard was dead.

 

2:34am

Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:URGENT: who did you send to my apartment? There is somebody outside claiming to be Wilks?

 

I just looked through the peephole, it is him.

 

 

2:39am

Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:URGENT:  Don’t open it.

 

Janus says he can see him standing outside your apartment, he’s got wilks’ head.

 

He’s making it talk somehow.

 

Hang tight,we are sending more enforcers

 

Midas?

 

Midas?

 

Leave a comment